World Series

World Series history began in 1903. The event is also known as "The Fall Classic".

The first World Series was a best-of-nine series between the champions of the National League (founded in 1876) and the American League. The AL's Boston Pilgrims defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates, 5 games to 3.

The only year the series hasn't been played was in 1904 when the 1904 National League champion New York Giants refused to play Boston. The Series resumed in 1905 as a best-of-seven series.

From 1919-1921 the series was played as a best-of-nine, every other year the series was played as a best-of-seven.

Little League:
Little League Baseball Incorporated was founded in 1939 in Williamsport, PA. It was granted a Federal Charter on July 16, 1964.

In 1947, 11 teams participated in the first Little League World Series.

MLB All-Star History

World Series Chronology

Daily Sports History